arrow-left-black arrow-right-black arrow-white-down arrow-white-up dd-logo-header-large-white dd-logo-header de en fi-x matrix-arrow-left matrix-arrow-right matrix-icon search-icon share-facebook share-google_plusone_share share-pinterest_share share-twitter social-icon-facebook social-icon-instagram social-icon-twitter
 

Outfit-Advice: Barack Obama X Hurrikan “Sandy”

 

Floods have always been the election campaign booster. Gerhard Schröder knows that quite well, since the flooding of the Elbe in 2002 secured his re-election as chancellor. Before the flood that was not at all a given.

The same goes for Obama being re-elected as president of the USA. His competitor Mitt Romney is surprisingly strong and manages to win over votes beyond the Republican realm.

Hurricane ‘Sandy’, that was plowing through New York last night is providing Barack Obama with an excellent opportunity to prove himself as a hands-on crisis manager and man of the people.

We’re attempting a recommendation for an outfit that suits the occasion, copied one-to-one from Gerhard ‘Acker’ Schröder:

1)   Since Obama still is a statesman who will obviously not change solely for his helper mission he should wear a white shirt, the key piece of any western politician’s uniform. He should drop the tie since a hurricane requires straight-on tackling of the issues. A tie would just be redundant here.

2)   The black suit pants, also a standard in the politicians’ wardrobe, is tucked into the rubber boots. The color of the boots is especially important: Yellow would be too obvious and too staged, so it has to be black. To make clear nonetheless that it’s rubber boots, however, that he is wearing, Obama should perhaps just wade through a mud puddle without hesitation.

3)   Moving on to the most essential part of the helper’s wardrobe, the raincoat. This piece of clothing can singlehandedly decide the re-election. A subtle, yet obvious outdoor color is important. Mud green (olive) is perfect! Whoever put that jacket on Schröder back then at the Elbe is a genius. It is also crucial that the raincoat is slightly too big. That’s supposed to send the signal: It’s not about the perfect fit or great looks. In such existential moments like these the chancellor is not concerned with his appearance as he is (obviously) saving those affected from further hardship here.

We don’t know about the relationship between Schröder and Obama or whether they have even met in person. Should that be the case though, we advise Schorsch Schröder to send a Care package with his original outfit to Obama as quickly as possible.

Should they not know each other, or Schröder can’t be bothered to go to the post office we’ll just assume that Obama’s consultants regularly read DANDY DIARY and recommend them to use our ‘Outfit guide to repeatedly win the elections in the case of a flood’ as guidance. Yes, you can!

Von: Jakob

LOOKS

LOOKBOOKS

NEWS

 

#GoldCelebration at the Berlin Fashion Week

A few weeks ago we spoke with the biggest (!) of all British photographers – RANKIN - on the phone, about how he managed to make the queen smile for a picture. Which meaningful role his parents had for the founding of Dazed & Confused. And about his new project – the RANKIN photo-booth – as well, of-course.

The first station of his RANKIN-photo-booth in Germany was the NOHO club in Hamburg, Dandy Jakob was there personally, to seat the top model Marie Nasemann on his lap for a photo, to drink Whiskey and to capture all of his poses (all in all: 4) in the booth.

Due to the fashion week in  Berlin, the RANKIN-photo-booth finally came here to Berlin, to our favourite club, the PRINCE CHARLES, for the PREMIUM after party by the sexy Anita Tillmann.

Again with: Marie Nasemann, who is searching for new talents together with RANKIN and the Johnnie Walker Gold Label Reserve.

Who was not present at the PREMIUM afterparty, and therefore not in the photo-booth, not with the beautiful Marie and not with us, will have the chance to capture his or her picture for ever at the Berlinale, and to join the #GoldCelebration contest.

Von: Julian

SPECIAL

TRENDS

 

No-Go: Coat Slinging!

 

A few years ago, streetstyle-experts started wearing their jackets or coats around their shoulders, instead of putting their arms through their sleeves. The technical term for that is ‘coat slinging’.

Recently, the german newspaper BUNTE (!) reported about the styling-trend. ‘Coat slinging’ therefore officially became a ‘no-go’. So: dear friends with good taste, please stick your arms in your sleeves from now on.

Because a sleeve without an arm, is like Justin O’Shea without Veronika, like Cara Delevigne without eyebrows: somehow not complete.

In 2008, Scott Schuman (aka: The Sartorialist) has revealed the first case of ‘coat slinging’ on his blog, afterwards an epidemic broke out, from which the fashion-world still has not recovered.

It has been enough: put your jackets on properly again! Otherwise you appear like a gay fashion-journalist from 2010 (who would put his arms into sleeves nowadays)

Von: Julian

INSTAGRAM

10949065_1533438423582722_1980345113_n

As usual terrifc setdesign at Henrik Vibskov!

#parisfashionweek

VIDEO

FASHION SHOWS

arrow-left-black arrow-right-black arrow-white-down arrow-white-up dd-logo-header-large-white dd-logo-header de en fi-x matrix-arrow-left matrix-arrow-right matrix-icon search-icon share-facebook share-google_plusone_share share-pinterest_share share-twitter social-icon-facebook social-icon-instagram social-icon-twitter
 

Outfit-Empfehlung: Barack Obama X Hurrikan “Sandy”

Hochwasser war schon immer der beste Wahlkampfhelfer. Das weiß Gerhard Schröder ziemlich gut, immerhin half ihm das Elbehochwasser im Jahr 2002 dabei, sich die Wiederwahl zum deutschen Kanzler zu sichern. Dies war vor der Flut keineswegs sicher.

Auch Barack Obamas Wiederwahl zum Präsidenten der USA ist aktuell noch keine besiegelte Sache. Sein Kontrahent Mitt Romney ist erstaunlich stark und schafft es, auch Wähler außerhalb des rechten Flügels zu mobilisieren.

Hurrikan “Sandy”, der gestern Nacht in New York (wie man so schön sagt) wütete, bietet Barack Obama daher eine hervorragende Möglichkeit, sich als hemdsärmeliger Krisen-Manager und Mann des Volkes zu profilieren.

Wir wagen uns an eine Outfit-Empfehlung, abgeguckt eins-zu-eins bei Gerhard “Acker” Schröder:

1) Da Obama immer noch Staatsmann ist, und er sich natürlich nicht extra für seinen “Hilfseinsatz” umzieht, sollte er ein weißes Hemd tragen – Key-Piece der westlichen Politiker-Uniform. Auf eine Krawatte wird verzichtet, denn nach einem Hurrikan ist Anpacken angesagt, da baumelt eine Krawatte ziemlich nutzlos rum.

2) Die schwarze Anzugshose, ebenfalls Standard in der Politiker-Garderobe, wird in schwarze Gummistiefel gesteckt. Die Farbe der Stiefel ist besonders wichtig: gelb wäre zu offensichtlich, zu inszeniert; also schwarz. Um klar zu machen, dass es dennoch Gummistiefel sind, die er anhat, sollte Obama vielleicht einmal ohne zu zögern durch eine Schlammpfütze laufen. 

3) Kommen wir zum wichtigsten Teil der Helfer-Garderobe, der Regenjacke. Dieses Kleidungsstück kann über die Wiederwahl entscheiden. Hierbei ist eine gedeckte, aber doch offensichtlich outdoor-geeignete Farbe wichtig. Schlammgrün ist perfekt! Wer auch immer Schröder damals an der Elbe diese Jacke übergestreift hat, ist ein Genie. Wichtig ist, dass der Regenmantel etwas zu groß ist. Das soll signalisieren: hier geht es nicht um Passform oder gutes Aussehen. In existenziellen Momenten wie diesem ist dem Kanzler total egal, wie er aussieht, er rettet hier schließlich (offensichtlich!) die betroffenen Menschen vor weiterem Unheil. 

Wir wissen nicht, wie Schröders Verhältnis zu Obama ist, oder ob die beiden sich überhaupt persönlich kennen. Wenn ja, raten wir Schorsch Schröder schnellstmöglich ein Care-Paket mit dem Original-Oufti and Obama zu schicken.

Sollten die beiden sich nicht kennen, oder Schröder keinen Bock haben, zur Post zu laufen, gehen wir einfach mal davon aus, dass Obamas Berater regelmäßige DANDY DIARY-Leser sind und möchten ihnen empfehlen, sich an unserem “Outfit-Guide für den Gewinn einer Wiederwahl im Fall eines Hochwassers” zu orientieren. Yes, you can!

LOOKS

LOOKBOOKS

NEWS

 

Wechselt Hedi Slimane zu Gucci?

Frida Giannini wird GUCCI verlassen. Daher ist wieder ein Luxuslabel auf der Suche nach einem Top-Designer.

Wer wird Nachfolger von sexy Giannini, deren Kollektionen für GUCCI okay, nicht revolutionär waren. Die Spekulationen beginnen. Ein Name, der immer wieder genannt wird: Hedi Slimane.

Der Mann, der aus YVES SAINT LAURENT SAINT LAURENT PARIS machte. Slimane sorgte mit seinen kommerziellen Kollektionen nicht gerade für Lobeshymnen unter Kritikern, doch SLP steigerte den Umatz unter der Leitung von Slimane um 28% im letzten Jahr.

SAINT LAURENT PARIS gehört wie GUCCI zur Kering Group, deren Chef François-Henri Pinault ist, daher wäre eine Wechsel von Slimane  ein familiärer Akt.

Außer Slimane sind noch Riccardo Tisci, der jedoch noch einen laufenden Vertrag bei Givenchy hat, und Joseph Altuzarra im Gespräch. Kering hat letztes Jahr bereits in das Label Altuzarra investiert.

Frida Giannini wird ihre letzte Show für GUCCI im Februar zeigen. Viel Zeit für die Suche nach einem würdigen Nachfolger bleibt also nicht mehr.

Von: David

SPECIAL

TRENDS

 

No-Go: Coat Slinging!

Vor ein paar Jahren begannen Streetstyle-Koryphäen damit ihre Jacken, Jacketts oder Mäntel lässig über den Schultern zu tragen, statt die Arme durch die Ärmel zu stecken. Im Fachterminus nannte man das dann “Coat Slinging”.

Kürzlich hat die BUNTE (!) über den Styling-Trend geschrieben. “Coat Slinging” ist somit also offiziell ein “No-Go”. Also: liebe Freunde des guten Geschmacks, bitte steckt eure Arme fortan wieder in die Ärmel.

Denn ein Ärmel ohne Arm, dass ist wie Justin O’Shea ohne Veronika, wie Cara Delevigne ohne Augenbrauen: irgendwie unvollständig.

2008 hat Scott Schuman (aka: The Sartorialist) den ersten Fall von “Coat Slinging” aufgedeckt und auf seinem Blog veröffentlicht, daraufhin brach eine Epidemie aus, von der sich die Modewochen bis heute nicht erholt haben.

Doch jetzt ist mal wieder gut: bitte zieht eure Jacketts wieder anständig an! Andernfalls wirkt ihr wie ein schwuler Modejournalist aus dem Jahr 2010 (der heute auch wieder seine Arme durch die Ärmel steckt).

INSTAGRAM

10843791_784191451628602_334556846_n

Casual Thursday Candy Jakob sporting some posttraditional Austrian gangster wear @adidasy3 pants, @gstarraw_official jacket, @nike sneakers and this White Russian hat from Moscow in between some deers.

VIDEO

FASHION SHOWS